Five young dancers wearing blue and red pennies and vibrant tights are falling to the floor DaNCEBUMS in our first performance. Photo: Farrington Llywen

DaNCEBUMS’ 7 Commandments for Collaboration

Earlier this week I was looking through my digital memory box. My heart was warmed when I found these seven commandments for collaboration DaNCEBUMS wrote when were were just starting our journey in 2013.

  1. There are no mistakes.
  2. Not everything is right.
  3. We are all different from each other.
  4. Love. Love. Love.
  5. Playing. You are always playing; witnessing is participating.
  6. We, as individuals, have natural authority.
  7. Talking can be a trap, have an escape plan. Bananas.

I think they hold up. What about you?

May 10, 2022 DaNCEBUMS Collaboration


Previous post
IN THE RIVER, From Prophecy to Foresight Can prophecy be a part of foresight? Reflects on what I will take away from my work on this unique performance project with Karthik Pandian, Mike Forcia, and Midway Contemporary Art.
Next post
Compass Article: "And then there was light" For my first piece in Compass, the magazine of the Association of Professional Futurisits, I spoke to Joey Eschrich at Arizona State University’s